Angela Selena Williams’s reading list

Angela Selena Williams is the Associate Director of the Center for South Asian & Middle Eastern Studies. She is writing a dissertation on the lived experiences of Arab female rap artists and their implications for education policy.


Harper Lee’s Go Set a WatchmanWhat’s on my night stand/end table/favorite or regular reading: I’m still working on getting through Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman, which came out last summer.  I was supposed to finish this and discuss it with my dearest aunt who lives in Alabama.  A couple years ago we visited Harper Lee’s hometown in Alabama because we were both To Kill a Mockingbird fans – I loved Lee’s writing style and Scout’s voice.  Of course visiting the south always gives me an eerie feeling… My favorite novel is Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God.  I’ve also thought about picking back up Dick Davis’ English translation of the Persian epic poem Vis and Ramin since he will be on campus next semester.  I have a little daily devotional book called The Upper Room that I read from and the Bible.  My favorite poem is Maya Angelou’s “Still I Rise” and I love watching her recite it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqOqo50LSZ0   A favorite author is Anne Lamott and I’d highly recommend her book on the writing process, Bird by Bird.  

About iprh

The Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign was established in 1997 to promote interdisciplinary study in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
This entry was posted in Reading Matters@IPRH. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

